

## **Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability**

## **SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES**

## June 27, 2023, 1:30 P.M. Student Center Conference Room 304 900 N Portland Ave, Oklahoma City, OK 73112

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT:	John Daniel, Dr. Katherine Curry, Ken Parker, Kathryn Szallar,
COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT:	Dr. Joanna Lein, Geoff Kingsley
OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES:	Office of Educational Quality and Accountability Staff: Renée Launey-Rodolf, Jennifer Gambrell, Abby Murphey, Jerry Shay, Angie Bookout, David Kurt, Lecrecia Schmidt, and Ashley Poole
VISITORS:	Greg Hallman, Ocupath, David Oakley, LegisOK

Call to Order: Dr. Katherine Curry called the meeting to order at 1:31 p.m.

**Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call:** Dr. Curry asked for the roll call to be taken. Four Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed.

**Welcome from Ms. Renee Launey-Rodolf:** Ms. Launey-Rodolf, OEQA Interim Executive Director, welcomed everyone to the meeting.

**Executive Session Pursuant to 25 O.S. §307(B)(1):** At 1:34 p.m. the Commission voted to go into Executive Session as authorized by 25 O.S. §307(B)(1) to discuss "employment, hiring, appointment, promotion, demotion, disciplining, or resignation" of an Executive Director for OEQA. The vote to go into Executive Session passed per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel: approve Ms. Szallar: approve

Page 1 of 2

Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability 5400 N Grand Blvd., Ste 200, Oklahoma City, OK 73112 • (405) 522-5399

Dr. Lein:	absent	Mr. Parker:	approve
Dr. Curry:	approve	Mr. Kingsley:	absent

**Return to Open Session:** Ms. Szallar made a motion to return to Open Session. Mr. Parker seconded the motion The Commission returned to Open Session at 3:59 p.m. per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:	approve	Ms. Szallar:	approve
Dr. Lein:	absent	Mr. Parker:	approve
Dr. Curry:	approve	Mr. Kingsley:	absent

**Vote on Matters Discussed in Executive Session:** Mr. Parker made a motion to proceed with an offer to the candidate of their choosing. Ms. Szallar seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:	approve	Ms. Szallar:	approve
Dr. Lein:	absent	Mr. Parker:	approve
Dr. Curry:	approve	Mr. Kingsley:	absent

The meeting adjourned at 4:03 p.m. The minutes of the June 27, 2023 special meeting of the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability were approved (circle one)

as submitted

with corrections

on July 19, 2023.

Signed:

Dr. Katherine Curry Secretary of Education Mrs. Jennifer Gambrell, OEQA Director